How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.
1.At a glance
SimpleStart here
M5 is the first Apple Silicon chip with a Neural Accelerator built into every GPU core, not just in a separate Neural Engine block. It debuted 15 October 2025 across three devices at once: MacBook Pro, iPad Pro, and Apple Vision Pro 1234.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own words: the 10-core GPU “introduces a new architecture with a Neural Accelerator in each core” 3 — confirmed on the base M5, not held back for the Pro/Max tiers. The family completed over the following ten months: M5 Pro and M5 Max on 3 March 2026 56, and M5 Ultra on 25 August 2026, shipping 22 September 2026 — two days before this page’s check date 78.
2.Launch and history
SimpleStart here
M5 Pro and M5 Max share the exact same CPU core count for the first time in the M-series — a break from every prior generation, where Max always had more CPU cores than Pro.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own tech material states an identical 18-core CPU configuration (6 “super cores” + 12 performance cores) for both M5 Pro and M5 Max 5 — the two chips now differ by GPU core count and memory instead. Apple also introduces a new construction method for this tier, calling it “Fusion Architecture”: “two third-generation 3-nanometer dies” connected into one SoC, a distinct term from “UltraFusion,” which Apple reserves for the top Ultra tier 5.
3.What’s inside it
SimpleStart here
M5: up to 10-core CPU, 10-core GPU. M5 Pro: up to 18-core CPU, up to 20-core GPU. M5 Max: up to 18-core CPU, up to 40-core GPU. M5 Ultra: up to 36-core CPU, up to 80-core GPU 357.
Deep diveThe technical detail
M5 Ultra is Apple’s first quad-die M-series chip: two M5 Max dies — each already a two-die “Fusion Architecture” part — are fused again via UltraFusion, for four dies total acting as one chip 7. Apple states UltraFusion inter-die bandwidth at “over 4.4TB/s” for this generation. Neither M5 Pro/Max transistor counts nor any M5-family Neural Engine TOPS figure are disclosed by Apple in any release checked — the only M-series chip with a published TOPS number remains M4 (38 TOPS), covered on its own page.
4.Full spec table
SimpleStart here
CPU cores run up to 10 (M5) to up to 36 (M5 Ultra); memory bandwidth runs over 150GB/s (M5) to 1.2TB/s (M5 Ultra); max unified memory runs up to 32GB (M5, typical config) to 512GB (M5 Ultra) 27.
Deep diveThe technical detail
| Spec | M5 | M5 Pro | M5 Max | M5 Ultra |
|---|
| CPU cores | up to 10 (4P+6E) | up to 18 (6 super+12P) | up to 18 (6 super+12P) | up to 36 (12 super+24P) |
|---|
| GPU cores | 10, Neural Accelerator/core | up to 20 | up to 40 | up to 80 |
|---|
| Neural Engine | 16-core (TOPS not stated) | 16-core | 16-core | 32-core |
|---|
| Memory bandwidth | over 150GB/s | up to 307GB/s | up to 614GB/s | 1.2TB/s |
|---|
| Max unified memory | Not stated as one figure | up to 64GB | up to 128GB | up to 512GB |
|---|
| Process node | Third-generation 3-nanometer |
|---|
| Construction | Single die | 2-die Fusion Architecture | 2-die Fusion Architecture | 4-die (2× Fusion + UltraFusion) |
|---|
Figures per Apple’s M5 launch material 123, the M5 Pro/Max release 5, and the M5 Ultra release 7.
5.Where it’s made
SimpleStart here
Apple states the whole M5 family uses “third-generation 3-nanometer technology.” No manufacturer is named for any tier.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s exact words, from the Vision Pro release: “third-generation 3-nanometer technology” 4. M5 Ultra’s specific node is not independently restated in its own release — this page treats it as inherited from M5 Max’s stated node rather than separately confirmed for the Ultra chip. No official Apple or TSMC source names a foundry for this generation.
6.Which systems use it
SimpleStart here
M5: 14-inch MacBook Pro, iPad Pro, Apple Vision Pro (all Oct 2025). M5 Pro: 14- and 16-inch MacBook Pro (Mar 2026), later Mac mini (Aug 2026). M5 Max: MacBook Pro (Mar 2026), Mac Studio (Aug 2026). M5 Ultra: Mac Studio only (Aug 2026) 2598.
Deep diveThe technical detail
M5 is the only M-series base chip this site found launching in three device categories (MacBook, iPad, and a headset) on the exact same day 234 — a broader simultaneous rollout than any prior base-tier M-chip.
7.Official pricing
SimpleStart here
Not applicable. No M5-family chip has ever been sold as a separate, priced component; costs are bundled into device prices.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Device prices Apple has published (not chip prices): 14" MacBook Pro with M5 Pro from $2,199, 16" from $2,699; Mac mini with M5 Pro from $1,699; Mac Studio with M5 Max from $2,499; Mac Studio with M5 Ultra from $5,499 (all US pricing) 698.
9.What came before, what came next
SimpleStart here
Came before: the M4 family (M5 Ultra’s direct predecessor at the top tier is M3 Ultra, since M4 never got an Ultra). Came after: the M6, which launched alongside M5 Pro and M5 Ultra in August 2026, outside this page’s scope.
Deep diveThe technical detail
M5 Ultra is compared in Apple’s own release directly against M3 Ultra, not M4 — the natural consequence of M4’s missing Ultra tier, covered on the M4 page. This makes M5 Ultra’s generational jump look larger on paper than a normal one-generation comparison would, since it spans two full chip generations at the top tier.
10.Hidden in plain sight
SimpleStart here
Apple’s most powerful Mac chip is now built from four separate pieces of silicon acting as one — and two of those four pieces are themselves already fused pairs.
Deep diveThe technical detail
M5 Ultra’s construction, as Apple describes it, is a fusion of fusions: two M5 Max chips, each already built from two dies via the new “Fusion Architecture” introduced with M5 Pro/Max 5, are then joined a second time via UltraFusion to form M5 Ultra 7 — four physical dies total, presented to the operating system and every app running on it as a single chip.