How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.
1.At a glance
SimpleStart here
A18 and A18 Pro are the first Apple chips where the base and Pro iPhone got two genuinely distinct designs rather than one chip binned differently. Both announced 9 September 2024 12.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Both share the same CPU naming — “6-core CPU with 2 performance and 4 efficiency cores” 34 — but differ in GPU core count, one full core apart, a distinction Apple states directly rather than leaves implied.
2.Launch and history
SimpleStart here
A18’s Neural Engine is the first Apple has described as “optimized for large generative models” — language tying the chip directly to Apple Intelligence, launched the same year.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s iPhone 16 Newsroom release describes the 16-core Neural Engine with exactly that phrase: “optimized for large generative models” 1 — a framing Apple had not used for any earlier A-series Neural Engine description found in this site’s research.
3.What’s inside it
SimpleStart here
A18: 6-core CPU, 5-core GPU. A18 Pro: 6-core CPU, 6-core GPU. Both carry a 16-core Neural Engine and hardware-accelerated ray tracing 34.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own performance claims for A18, versus A16 Bionic: CPU “30 percent faster... and faster than all the competition,” running “the same workload with 30 percent less power than A16 Bionic”; GPU “up to 40 percent faster and 35 percent more efficient than A16 Bionic”; Neural Engine “runs ML models up to 2x faster than the A16 Bionic chip” 1. For A18 Pro, versus A17 Pro: CPU can “run the same workload as the previous generation 15 percent faster while using 20 percent less power”; GPU “up to 20 percent faster”; ray tracing “up to 2x faster”; and “a 17 percent increase in total system memory bandwidth — the highest ever in iPhone” 2. Neither chip’s transistor count nor Neural Engine TOPS figure is disclosed by Apple in the material found.
4.Full spec table
SimpleStart here
A18: 6-core CPU, 5-core GPU. A18 Pro: 6-core CPU, 6-core GPU, 17% more memory bandwidth than A17 Pro. Both on second-generation 3-nanometer 34.
Deep diveThe technical detail
| Spec | A18 | A18 Pro |
|---|
| CPU | 6-core: 2 performance + 4 efficiency |
|---|
| GPU | 5-core | 6-core |
|---|
| Neural Engine | 16-core; TOPS not disclosed by Apple |
|---|
| Process node | Second-generation 3-nanometer |
|---|
| Ray tracing | Hardware-accelerated (both chips) |
|---|
| Transistor count | Not disclosed by Apple |
|---|
Figures per Apple’s iPhone 16 specs page 3 and iPhone 16 Pro tech-specs page 4, corroborated by both Newsroom launch releases.
5.Where it’s made
SimpleStart here
Apple describes both chips as “second-generation 3-nanometer technology” — a refined version of A17 Pro’s node, not a new one. No manufacturer is named.
Deep diveThe technical detail
A18 Pro’s release adds: “featuring a new architecture with smaller, faster transistors” 2 — Apple’s own description of what “second-generation” means for this node, without a specific transistor count to go with it.
6.Which systems use it
SimpleStart here
A18 shipped in iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Plus (2024), and later in iPhone 16e. A18 Pro shipped in iPhone 16 Pro and iPhone 16 Pro Max (2024) 12.
Deep diveThe technical detail
This is the first generation where this site’s research confirms zero shared silicon between the base and Pro iPhone chip within the same year — a genuinely different die design for each, not a binning split of one design.
7.Official pricing
SimpleStart here
Not applicable. Neither chip was ever sold as a separate, priced component.
Deep diveThe technical detail
No official Apple source lists a standalone chip price for A18 or A18 Pro.
9.What came before, what came next
SimpleStart here
Came before: A16 Bionic (base tier) / A17 Pro (Pro tier). Came after: A19 and A19 Pro, announced September 2025.
Deep diveThe technical detail
A18/A18 Pro established the fully-split naming convention (distinct base and Pro chip names) that A19/A19 Pro and A20/A20 Pro (where announced) would continue.
10.Hidden in plain sight
SimpleStart here
The cheaper iPhone’s chip is the first Apple has ever described as built specifically for generative AI.
Deep diveThe technical detail
It would be easy to assume Apple reserves its most AI-forward marketing language for the Pro chip. Instead, the “optimized for large generative models” phrase 1 appears in the base A18’s own Newsroom release — the same generative-AI framing applied evenly across both the cheaper and more expensive iPhone that year.