How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.
1.At a glance
SimpleStart here
A19 and A19 Pro are the chips that put a Neural Accelerator inside every single GPU core, not just in a separate Neural Engine block. Both announced 9 September 2025 12.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own wording for the base A19, from its Newsroom launch release: “Neural Accelerators are also built into each GPU core to help run powerful generative AI models on device” 1 — the first time this specific architectural description appears in this site’s research across the whole A-series.
2.Launch and history
SimpleStart here
Apple’s own comparison for A19’s CPU and GPU skips the immediate predecessor entirely, reaching back four chip generations to A15 Bionic instead — an unusually distant baseline for a same-year launch claim.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Verbatim from Apple’s release: CPU “1.5x faster than the A15 Bionic chip in iPhone 13”, and the 5-core GPU is “more than 2x faster than A15 Bionic” 1 — both measured against a chip four generations old, not against A18. This page reports the comparison exactly as Apple stated it, flagging the unusual baseline rather than assuming a typo.
3.What’s inside it
SimpleStart here
A19: 6-core CPU, 5-core GPU with Neural Accelerators. A19 Pro: 6-core CPU, 6-core GPU with Neural Accelerators, described as “the fastest CPU in any smartphone” 34.
Deep diveThe technical detail
A19 Pro’s own release states “up to 40 percent better sustained performance than the previous generation,” plus “larger cache and more memory than A18 Pro” — without giving a specific cache or memory number 2. Notably, Apple’s own iPhone Air release describes a distinct A19 Pro configuration with a 5-core GPU (not 6-core), stating its “Neural Accelerators” deliver “up to 3x the peak GPU compute over the previous generation” 5 — meaning “A19 Pro” itself covers two different GPU core counts depending on device, a distinction this page states plainly rather than picking one number for both. Neither chip’s transistor count nor Neural Engine TOPS figure is disclosed by Apple.
4.Full spec table
SimpleStart here
A19: 6-core CPU, 5-core GPU. A19 Pro: 6-core CPU, 6-core GPU in iPhone 17 Pro (5-core in iPhone Air). Both on third-generation 3-nanometer 34.
Deep diveThe technical detail
| Spec | A19 | A19 Pro |
|---|
| CPU | 6-core: 2 performance + 4 efficiency |
|---|
| GPU | 5-core | 6-core (iPhone 17 Pro) / 5-core (iPhone Air) |
|---|
| Neural Engine | 16-core; TOPS not disclosed by Apple |
|---|
| Neural Accelerators | Built into every GPU core (new) |
|---|
| Process node | Third-generation 3-nanometer |
|---|
| Transistor count | Not disclosed by Apple |
|---|
Figures per Apple’s iPhone 17 tech-specs page 3, iPhone 17 Pro tech-specs page 4, and the iPhone Air launch release for the A19 Pro 5-core variant 5.
5.Where it’s made
SimpleStart here
Apple states A19 uses “third-generation 3-nanometer technology.” A19 Pro’s own release does not restate a separate node label. No manufacturer is named for either chip.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s exact words for the base A19: “third-generation 3-nanometer technology” 1. A19 Pro’s own launch release does not repeat a distinct generation label — this page treats A19 Pro’s node as the same 3-nanometer family as A19 by inheritance, not as independently confirmed by a separate Apple statement for the Pro chip specifically.
6.Which systems use it
SimpleStart here
A19 shipped in iPhone 17 (2025). A19 Pro shipped in iPhone 17 Pro, iPhone 17 Pro Max, and (as a 5-core-GPU variant) iPhone Air (2025) 125.
Deep diveThe technical detail
iPhone Air’s use of a cut-down A19 Pro — same chip name, fewer GPU cores — mirrors the binning approach A15 Bionic used across iPhone 13 and 13 Pro, but this time within the “Pro” chip name itself rather than across separate base/Pro chip names.
7.Official pricing
SimpleStart here
Not applicable. Neither chip was ever sold as a separate, priced component.
Deep diveThe technical detail
No official Apple source lists a standalone chip price for A19 or A19 Pro.
9.What came before, what came next
SimpleStart here
Came before: A18 (base) / A18 Pro. Came after: A20 Pro, announced September 2026 (A20 base has not been announced by Apple).
Deep diveThe technical detail
A19/A19 Pro is the generation that introduced Neural Accelerators inside the GPU — an architectural addition A20 Pro’s own release continues rather than replaces.
10.Hidden in plain sight
SimpleStart here
The iPhone Air runs a chip called “A19 Pro” with fewer GPU cores than the same-named chip in the iPhone 17 Pro sitting next to it in the same store.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own iPhone Air release confirms this directly rather than leaving it to inference: a 5-core GPU version of A19 Pro 5, one core fewer than the 6-core A19 Pro in iPhone 17 Pro and Pro Max 4 — the same chip name covering two different physical configurations, disclosed by Apple but easy to miss without reading both device pages side by side.