How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.
1.At a glance
SimpleStart here
A17 Pro is the first Apple chip to carry the “Pro” name outright, and the chip Apple calls the industry’s first 3-nanometer chip. Announced 12 September 2023 with iPhone 15 Pro and Pro Max 1.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s release calls its GPU redesign “the biggest GPU redesign in Apple’s history” 1 — the same generation that brought hardware-accelerated ray tracing to an Apple chip for the first time.
2.Launch and history
SimpleStart here
A17 Pro is the chip Apple used to bring console-style graphics to iPhone — its own release names four AAA console titles running on it at launch: Resident Evil Village, Resident Evil 4, Death Stranding Director’s Cut, and Assassin’s Creed Mirage.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own framing: hardware-accelerated ray tracing is “4x faster than software-based ray tracing” — a same-chip comparison against running the same technique without dedicated hardware, not against a prior Apple chip 1. The release also names a new dedicated AV1 decoder and states “a new USB controller enables USB 3 speeds on iPhone for the first time” 1.
3.What’s inside it
SimpleStart here
A six-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency) and a new six-core GPU with hardware ray tracing 2.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own performance claims, framed against “the previous generation” without naming A16 Bionic outright: CPU “up to 10 percent faster with microarchitectural and design improvements”; Pro-class GPU “up to 20 percent faster”; Neural Engine “up to 2x faster,” specifically powering “autocorrect and Personal Voice in iOS 17” 1. Since A17 Pro’s only immediate predecessor at the Pro tier is A16 Bionic, this page reads the comparison as being against A16 Bionic — a reasonable inference, not a chip name Apple’s own release states directly. Apple has not disclosed a transistor count for A17 Pro in any official source found — a commonly-cited “19 billion” figure traces to third-party commentary, not apple.com, and is not repeated here as fact. A Neural Engine TOPS figure is also not disclosed for this generation.
4.Full spec table
SimpleStart here
Six CPU cores, a new six-core GPU with hardware ray tracing, a 16-core Neural Engine, built on 3-nanometer process 2.
Deep diveThe technical detail
| Spec | Apple A17 Pro |
|---|
| CPU | 6-core: 2 performance + 4 efficiency |
|---|
| GPU | 6-core, hardware-accelerated ray tracing (new) |
|---|
| Neural Engine | 16-core; TOPS not disclosed by Apple |
|---|
| Process node | 3 nanometer (Apple’s claim: industry-first) |
|---|
| Transistor count | Not disclosed by Apple |
|---|
| Memory | Not disclosed by Apple |
|---|
Figures per Apple’s iPhone 15 Pro tech-specs page 2 and Newsroom launch material 1.
5.Where it’s made
SimpleStart here
Apple calls A17 Pro “the industry’s first 3-nanometer chip.” TSMC’s own earnings call that same quarter confirms N3 volume production ramping — without naming Apple as the customer.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own words: “industry’s first 3-nanometer chip” 1. TSMC’s Q3 2023 earnings call, held the following month, has CEO C.C. Wei stating N3 “is already in volume production with good yield and we are seeing a strong ramp in the second half of this year,” a ramp “supported by both HPC and smartphone applications,” with 3-nanometer process technology contributing “6% of wafer revenue in the third quarter” 3. TSMC’s own transcript does not name Apple specifically — this page reports the timing correlation rather than asserting a named-customer confirmation neither company has made.
6.Which systems use it
SimpleStart here
A17 Pro shipped exclusively in iPhone 15 Pro and iPhone 15 Pro Max (2023) 1.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Unlike A15 Bionic’s single-name, dual-GPU-bin approach, A17 Pro had no non-Pro counterpart that year — iPhone 15 and 15 Plus used A16 Bionic instead 1.
7.Official pricing
SimpleStart here
Not applicable. A17 Pro was never sold as a separate, priced component.
Deep diveThe technical detail
No official Apple source lists a standalone chip price for A17 Pro.
9.What came before, what came next
SimpleStart here
Came before: A16 Bionic. Came after: A18 and A18 Pro, announced September 2024 — the first year Apple split base and Pro into genuinely different, separately-named chips.
Deep diveThe technical detail
A17 Pro set two precedents its successors kept: the “Pro” chip name itself, and hardware ray tracing as a standing Apple GPU feature, carried into every subsequent generation through 2026’s A20 Pro.
10.Hidden in plain sight
SimpleStart here
The same chip generation that brought console-quality ray tracing to iPhone also quietly gave the phone real USB 3 speeds for the very first time.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own release states plainly, almost in passing next to the ray-tracing and gaming headlines: “a new USB controller enables USB 3 speeds on iPhone for the first time” 1 — a practical, everyday capability (fast wired file transfer) landing in the same chip generation as a marketing push built almost entirely around console gaming.