AI Chips · Product page

Apple A12 Bionic: The Complete Guide

Apple’s own words: the industry’s first 7-nanometer chip in any smartphone. Simple to expert, every number links to its source.

Ask an AI about this chip:CAGPX
Apple A12 Bionic 10 sections · 2 levels 3 linked sources Checked September 2026
How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.

1.At a glance

SimpleStart here

A12 Bionic is the chip Apple calls the industry’s first 7-nanometer chip in any smartphone. Announced 12 September 2018 with iPhone XS and XS Max 1.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Apple’s exact words, from the iPhone XR announcement the same month: “the first 7-nanometer chip ever in a smartphone that delivers industry-leading performance in a more power-efficient design” 2. This is the first A-series chip whose Newsroom material states a specific process node.

2.Launch and history

SimpleStart here

A12 Bionic is also the chip that opened the Neural Engine to outside developers for the first time — before this, only Apple’s own features (Face ID, Animoji) could use it.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Apple’s own claim: “For the first time the Neural Engine is open to Core ML” — Apple’s machine-learning framework for third-party apps — and “Core ML running on the A12 Bionic Neural Engine is up to nine times faster than on A11 Bionic, with as little as one-tenth the energy usage” 1.

3.What’s inside it

SimpleStart here

A six-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency), a four-core GPU, and a new eight-core Neural Engine 1.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Apple’s own figures, compared against A11 Bionic: performance cores “up to 15 percent faster,” efficiency cores “up to 50 percent more efficient,” and a “four-core GPU that is up to 50 percent faster” 1. Apple has not disclosed a transistor count for A12 Bionic in any official source found — commonly cited figures for it circulate only in third-party technical coverage, not on apple.com, and are not repeated here as fact.

4.Full spec table

SimpleStart here

Six CPU cores, four GPU cores, an eight-core Neural Engine capable of 5 trillion operations per second, built on Apple’s first 7-nanometer process 12.

Deep diveThe technical detail
SpecApple A12 Bionic
CPU6-core: 2 performance + 4 efficiency
GPU4-core, Apple-designed
Neural Engine8-core, up to 5 trillion operations/sec
Process node7 nanometer (Apple’s own claim, industry-first in a smartphone)
Transistor countNot disclosed by Apple
MemoryNot disclosed by Apple

Figures per Apple’s iPhone XS/XS Max and iPhone XR launch material 12.

5.Where it’s made

SimpleStart here

Apple states A12 Bionic is built on a 7-nanometer process — the first in any smartphone — but does not name a manufacturer.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Apple’s own wording: “the first 7-nanometer chip ever in a smartphone that delivers industry-leading performance in a more power-efficient design” 2. No Apple source names TSMC or any other foundry; the manufacturer is not confirmed by either company’s official material for this generation.

6.Which systems use it

SimpleStart here

A12 Bionic shipped in iPhone XS, XS Max, and XR (2018), then in iPad Air (3rd generation) and iPad mini (5th generation) in March 2019 123.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Apple’s own words on the iPad launch: “Both the new iPad Air and iPad mini include the A12 Bionic chip” 3 — the first time a chip originally built for iPhone carried directly into that year’s iPad refresh with no changes named.

7.Official pricing

SimpleStart here

Not applicable. A12 Bionic was never sold as a separate, priced component.

Deep diveThe technical detail

No official Apple source lists a standalone chip price for A12 Bionic; its cost is bundled into the device price.

8.Real-world performance

SimpleStart here

Apple’s iPad Air comparison: “70 percent boost in performance and twice the graphics capability” versus the previous iPad Air (A9-based) 3.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Apple’s iPad mini comparison, same release: “three times the performance and nine times faster graphics” versus the previous iPad mini (A8-based) 3 — a much larger jump than the iPad Air’s, reflecting how many generations behind the iPad mini had fallen before this refresh. Both are company-published comparisons against specific named prior devices, not independent benchmarks.

9.What came before, what came next

SimpleStart here

Came before: A11 Bionic. Came after: A13 Bionic, announced September 2019.

Deep diveThe technical detail

A12 Bionic set the process-node pattern later A-series chips would keep chasing: A14 would claim the industry’s first 5-nanometer smartphone chip, and A20 Pro would claim 2-nanometer, both explicit firsts in the same vein A12 established.

10.Hidden in plain sight

SimpleStart here

A12 Bionic is the chip that let outside app developers use Apple’s Neural Engine for the first time — not just Apple’s own features.

Deep diveThe technical detail

A11 Bionic’s Neural Engine existed purely for Apple’s own Face ID and Animoji. A12 Bionic’s Newsroom text explicitly opens it to Core ML “for the first time” 1 — the moment on-device machine learning stopped being an Apple-only feature and became a platform capability every iOS developer could build on.

11.Sources

3 sources, checked September 2026. Where NVIDIA or another maker has not published a figure, this page says so rather than estimate it.

  1. Apple Newsroom: iPhone XS and iPhone XS Max Bring the Best and Biggest Displays to iPhoneOfficial
  2. Apple Newsroom: Apple Introduces iPhone XROfficial
  3. Apple Newsroom: All-New iPad Air and iPad mini Deliver Dramatic Power and CapabilityOfficial