How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.
1.At a glance
SimpleStart here
A20 Pro is Apple’s newest chip as of this check, announced 9 September 2026 with iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max. As of this check, Apple has not announced a plain, non-Pro “A20” — only A20 Pro exists 1.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own wording: “Built using the latest 2-nanometer process technology, A20 Pro sets a new bar for mobile computing” 1. Note: Apple’s release does not use the word “first” alongside this node claim — the “first 2nm smartphone chip” framing that circulated in media coverage at launch is not, itself, an Apple statement, and this page does not repeat it as one.
2.Launch and history
SimpleStart here
A20 Pro renames Apple’s CPU performance cores to “super cores” for the first time — the same 2 + 4 core split as prior generations, under new terminology.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own tech-specs language: “6-core CPU with 2 super cores and 4 efficiency cores” 23 — the word “performance,” used for every prior A-series generation’s equivalent cores, is replaced with “super” starting here. This page reports the naming change as Apple stated it, without assuming an architectural difference beyond what Apple’s own specs describe.
3.What’s inside it
SimpleStart here
A six-core CPU (2 super cores + 4 efficiency), a new seven-core GPU, and a new dual 16-core Neural Engine — 32 total cores, double A19 Pro’s 1.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own figures, versus A19 Pro: GPU “up to 40 percent faster”; Neural Engine “includes 32 total cores for double the AI processing power of A19 Pro”; “50 percent more memory bandwidth than A19 Pro”; sustained performance “up to a 40 percent gain over the previous generation — the highest sustained performance yet” 1. CPU improvement is described only qualitatively as “faster than the competition,” with no percentage figure given versus A19 Pro specifically. Transistor count is not disclosed by Apple.
4.Full spec table
SimpleStart here
Six CPU cores (2 super + 4 efficiency), a seven-core GPU, a dual 16-core (32-total) Neural Engine, built on 2-nanometer process 2.
Deep diveThe technical detail
| Spec | Apple A20 Pro |
|---|
| CPU | 6-core: 2 super cores + 4 efficiency cores |
|---|
| GPU | 7-core, new design |
|---|
| Neural Engine | Dual 16-core (32 total cores) |
|---|
| Process node | 2 nanometer |
|---|
| Memory bandwidth | 50% more than A19 Pro |
|---|
| Transistor count | Not disclosed by Apple |
|---|
Figures per Apple’s iPhone 18 Pro specs page 2 and Newsroom launch material 1. Apple also paired A20 Pro with its own N1 (Wi-Fi 7/Bluetooth 6/Thread) and C2 cellular modem 2.
5.Where it’s made
SimpleStart here
Apple states A20 Pro uses 2-nanometer process technology. TSMC’s own investor call two months earlier confirms its N2 node entered high-volume manufacturing on the exact timeline A20 Pro’s launch matches.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple’s own words: “Built using the latest 2-nanometer process technology” 1. TSMC’s Q4 2025 earnings call (January 2026) states: “N2 successfully entered high volume manufacturing in 4Q 2025 at both our Hsinchu and Kaohsiung sides with good yield,” with “strong demand from smartphone and HPC/AI applications” and an expectation of “a faster ramp in 2026,” adding that “the initial ramp-up of our two-nanometer technology will start to dilute our gross margin in the second half of the year” 4 — matching A20 Pro’s September 2026 (second-half) ship date. TSMC’s transcript does not name Apple directly; this page reports the timing match rather than asserting a named-customer confirmation neither company has made.
6.Which systems use it
SimpleStart here
A20 Pro shipped exclusively in iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max (2026). No non-Pro “A20” has been announced 1.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Whether Apple will later release a base “A20” for a non-Pro iPhone remains unconfirmed as of this check — this page will be updated if and when Apple announces one, rather than assuming the pattern set by A18/A19 will necessarily repeat.
7.Official pricing
SimpleStart here
Not applicable. A20 Pro was never sold as a separate, priced component.
Deep diveThe technical detail
No official Apple source lists a standalone chip price for A20 Pro; its cost is bundled into the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max device prices, which Apple’s tech-specs page lists in storage-tier form only (256GB/512GB/1TB/2TB), with no RAM figure disclosed 2.
9.What came before, what came next
SimpleStart here
Came before: A19 Pro. Came after: not yet named — Apple has not announced its next A-series chip as of this check.
Deep diveThe technical detail
A20 Pro continues two threads its immediate predecessors started: the “Pro” naming convention A17 Pro began, and the Neural Accelerator-per-GPU-core architecture A19 introduced — while adding its own new element, the “super core” CPU naming.
10.Hidden in plain sight
SimpleStart here
Apple’s own press release never claims A20 Pro is a “first” at anything to do with its manufacturing process — that framing came entirely from the press covering it, not from Apple itself.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Apple has made explicit “first” process-node claims before — A12’s 7nm, A14’s 5nm, A17 Pro’s 3nm, all stated directly in Apple’s own Newsroom text. A20 Pro’s release breaks that pattern: it states the 2-nanometer figure but never calls it a “first” of any kind 1 — a small, verifiable gap between what Apple actually said and what most outlets reported it as saying.