AI Chips · Product page

NVIDIA Rubin: The Complete Guide

Named for an astronomer who found the first evidence of dark matter. NVIDIA has not said what it’s made of or on. Simple to expert, every number links to its source.

Ask an AI about this chip:CAGPX
NVIDIA Rubin 10 sections · 2 levels 6 linked sources Checked September 2026
How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.

1.At a glance

SimpleStart here

Rubin is NVIDIA’s next GPU architecture after Blackwell, first shown at GTC on 18 March 2025 1 and declared in full production at CES on 5 January 2026 2. It ships as part of the wider Vera Rubin platform, covered on its own page.

Deep diveThe technical detail

A separate variant, Rubin CPX, was unveiled 9 September 2025 as a monolithic-die GPU built specifically for massive-context inference — long documents, video and code — distinct from the standard dual-die Rubin GPU described on this page 3.

2.Launch and history

SimpleStart here

NVIDIA revealed Rubin as a roadmap item well before shipping hardware, first at GTC 2025, then with progressively more detail through CES 2026, GTC 2026 and a dedicated architecture blog in 2026, ahead of a stated second-half-2026 availability window.

Deep diveThe technical detail

First shown 18 March 2025 at GTC as a named future generation 1. A specialised variant, Rubin CPX, was detailed 9 September 2025 3. NVIDIA declared the Rubin platform in “full production” at CES on 5 January 2026, describing it as “six new chips” 2. GTC 2026 (16 March 2026) expanded this into the full Vera Rubin platform and named NVIDIA’s next architecture after Rubin as “Feynman” 4.

3.What’s inside it

SimpleStart here

Rubin uses a dual-die design — two dies joined on one package by a high-speed link NVIDIA calls NV-HBI — with 224 streaming multiprocessors and 896 fifth-generation Tensor cores 5.

Deep diveThe technical detail

NVIDIA’s architecture deep-dive states Rubin uses “two dies … unified on a single package through a high-speed inter-die link called the NVIDIA High-Bandwidth Interface (NV-HBI)” 5 — not the monolithic design used for the separate Rubin CPX variant. NVIDIA states 336 billion transistors, 224 SMs and 896 fifth-generation Tensor cores 5. A third-generation Transformer Engine adds hardware-accelerated adaptive compression 2. NVIDIA has not published a process node or foundry for Rubin — no TSMC name, no node number appears in its architecture blog, newsroom or investor material found as of this check; this page does not infer one.

4.Full spec table

SimpleStart here

Up to 288GB of a new memory type, HBM4, per GPU, with up to 22 TB/s of memory bandwidth, and sixth-generation NVLink at 3.6 TB/s per GPU 5.

Deep diveThe technical detail
SpecNVIDIA Rubin GPU
Die designDual-die, joined by NV-HBI
Transistors336 billion
SMs224
Tensor cores896 (5th gen)
MemoryUp to 288GB HBM4, 12-Hi stacks
Memory bandwidthUp to 22 TB/s
NVLink (6th gen)3.6 TB/s per GPU
NVLink-C2C1.8 TB/s (coherent CPU-GPU link)
Host connectivityPCIe Gen6, up to 256 GB/s
NVFP4 inferenceUp to 50 PFLOPS
Process nodeNot published by NVIDIA

Figures per NVIDIA’s own Rubin architecture blog 5. A separate NVIDIA developer-blog roundup of the wider platform additionally lists a training-side NVFP4 figure; this page reports only the inference figure that NVIDIA’s dedicated architecture page states directly, since the training figure could not be pinned to one canonical source.

5.Where it’s made

SimpleStart here

NVIDIA has not stated who manufactures Rubin or on what process node. This page does not guess — no NVIDIA source found names a foundry or node for it.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Unlike Blackwell and Blackwell Ultra, where NVIDIA names TSMC and a specific custom node (4N, 4NP) in its own architecture pages, no equivalent statement was found for Rubin in NVIDIA’s newsroom, developer blog or investor materials as of September 2026. Any specific foundry or node figure reported elsewhere is analyst inference, not an NVIDIA claim, and is not repeated here.

6.Which systems use it

SimpleStart here

Rubin ships as part of the Vera Rubin platform, in racks NVIDIA calls Vera Rubin NVL72. Cloud partners named across NVIDIA’s announcements include AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Oracle Cloud, CoreWeave, Lambda and others 6.

Deep diveThe technical detail

The rack-scale system built around Rubin — Vera Rubin NVL72, pairing 72 Rubin GPUs with 36 Vera CPUs — is covered on its own Vera Rubin page. System builders named for the platform include Dell Technologies, HPE, Lenovo, Supermicro and Cisco, alongside a long list of component and manufacturing partners 6.

7.Official pricing

SimpleStart here

No official NVIDIA pricing exists for Rubin at any level — chip, board, or system — as of September 2026.

Deep diveThe technical detail

No NVIDIA source, and no cloud provider’s own pricing page, publishes a Rubin price as of this check. Any dollar figures circulating for Rubin trace to analyst cost modelling, not NVIDIA or its partners, and are not reported on this page.

8.Real-world performance

SimpleStart here

NVIDIA claims Rubin delivers “up to 10x more agentic throughput per unit of energy” than Blackwell 5 — a company-stated comparison; no independent benchmark result has been published for Rubin yet.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Platform-level performance claims are reported on the Vera Rubin page, since NVIDIA states most of its comparisons (inference token cost, training GPU count) at the platform level rather than for the Rubin GPU in isolation. As of September 2026, no MLPerf or other independent benchmark submission for Rubin has been published, because the platform has not yet shipped in volume.

9.What came before, what came next

SimpleStart here

Came before: Blackwell Ultra (B300/GB300), NVIDIA’s own newsroom names it directly as what Rubin succeeds 2. Comes after: an architecture NVIDIA has named “Feynman,” with a new CPU codenamed “Rosa” 4.

Deep diveThe technical detail

NVIDIA’s Rubin platform newsroom page states the platform succeeds “the NVIDIA Blackwell platform” 2. At GTC 2026, NVIDIA named its next architecture generation Feynman, paired with a new CPU codenamed Rosa, continuing the pattern of naming data-center architectures after scientists 4. No official year has been stated for Feynman in NVIDIA’s own material found as of this check; any specific year attached to it elsewhere is press or analyst estimate, not an NVIDIA claim.

10.Hidden in plain sight

SimpleStart here

NVIDIA’s own keynote coverage confirms the name is a tribute: “Paying tribute to astronomer Vera Rubin, Huang outlined a roadmap…” 1 — Vera C. Rubin provided the first strong observational evidence for dark matter.

Deep diveThe technical detail

NVIDIA has named its data-center GPU architectures after scientists for years — Pascal, Volta, Turing, Ampere, Hopper, Blackwell — but Rubin marks the first one named for a woman 1. NVIDIA then continued the pattern with the next generation’s CPU, codenamed Rosa after Rosalind Franklin, confirmed at GTC 2026 4 — suggesting a deliberate choice rather than a one-off.

11.Sources

6 sources, checked September 2026. Where NVIDIA or another maker has not published a figure, this page says so rather than estimate it.

  1. NVIDIA Blog: NVIDIA Keynote at GTC 2025: AI News, Live UpdatesOfficial
  2. NVIDIA Newsroom: NVIDIA Rubin PlatformOfficial
  3. NVIDIA Newsroom: NVIDIA Unveils Rubin CPX, a New Class of GPU Designed for Massive-Context InferenceOfficial
  4. NVIDIA Blog: GTC 2026 NewsOfficial
  5. NVIDIA Developer Blog: Inside NVIDIA Rubin GPU Architecture: Powering the Era of Agentic AIOfficial
  6. NVIDIA Newsroom: NVIDIA Vera Rubin PlatformOfficial