How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.
1.At a glance
SimpleStart here
MI250X is AMD’s second-generation Instinct data-center accelerator, announced 8 November 2021. It is best known as the chip that powered Frontier, the first computer ever to pass one exaflop 12.
Deep diveThe technical detail
AMD’s own launch material frames the MI200 series — MI250X, MI250 and MI210 — as built to “power exascale systems”, naming Frontier at Oak Ridge National Laboratory as the flagship deployment before it had even run its first benchmark 1. MI250X and MI250 use AMD’s new CDNA 2 architecture; MI210 is a smaller, single-die, PCIe-card version of the same generation 34.
2.Launch and history
SimpleStart here
Supercomputer centres had a specific problem in 2021: no single chip could do enough real scientific arithmetic (not the lower-precision maths AI training uses) to reach one exaflop — a billion billion calculations a second. AMD built MI250X specifically to close that gap, and Oak Ridge National Laboratory bet its next supercomputer on it.
Deep diveThe technical detail
The bet paid off in May 2022: Frontier reached 1.102 exaflops on the industry’s standard benchmark, officially the first machine ever to cross the exascale line, according to both Oak Ridge’s own announcement and the independent TOP500 list 25. Every node in Frontier pairs one AMD EPYC CPU with four MI250X chips — which is why this one chip, more than any other AMD part before it, is the one AMD points to when it talks about entering the top tier of scientific and AI computing.
3.What’s inside it
SimpleStart here
MI250X and MI250 use CDNA 2, AMD’s second-generation compute architecture, built from two GPU dies connected together inside one package. MI210 is the same generation on a single, smaller die 3.
Deep diveThe technical detail
AMD’s own words for the packaging: MI250X and MI250 use “2.5D Elevated Fanout Bridge (EFB) technology” to connect two Graphics Compute Dies, joined by up to eight Infinity Fabric links per package 1. MI210 drops to a single die with up to three Infinity Fabric links, in a PCIe card rather than the OAM module MI250X and MI250 use 4. AMD has not disclosed a transistor count for any MI200-series chip in its press release, datasheet or product pages; this page does not repeat unsourced third-party figures.
4.Full spec table
SimpleStart here
MI250X: 220 compute units, 128 GB of HBM2e memory, up to 3.2 TB/s of memory bandwidth. MI210: 104 compute units, 64 GB of HBM2e, up to 1.6 TB/s 34.
Deep diveThe technical detail
| Spec | MI250X | MI250 | MI210 |
|---|
| Compute units | 220 | 208 | 104 |
|---|
| Stream processors | 14,080 | 13,312 | 6,656 |
|---|
| Memory | 128 GB HBM2e | 128 GB HBM2e | 64 GB HBM2e |
|---|
| Peak memory bandwidth | up to 3.2 TB/s | up to 3.2 TB/s | up to 1.6 TB/s |
|---|
| FP64 (vector) | 47.9 TFLOPS | 45.3 TFLOPS | 22.6 TFLOPS |
|---|
| FP32 (matrix) | 95.7 TFLOPS | 90.5 TFLOPS | 45.3 TFLOPS |
|---|
| FP16 / BF16 | 383.0 TFLOPS | 362.1 TFLOPS | 181.0 TFLOPS |
|---|
| INT8 | 383.0 TOPS | 362.1 TOPS | 181.0 TOPS |
|---|
| TDP | 500W (air) / 560W (liquid) | 500W / 560W | 300W |
|---|
| Form factor | OAM | OAM | PCIe, dual-slot |
|---|
| Process node | 6nm FinFET (AMD’s own wording; no foundry named) |
|---|
| Transistor count | Not disclosed by AMD |
|---|
Figures from AMD’s own MI200-series datasheet and MI210 brochure 34. AMD’s MI210 brochure lists FP64 and FP32 matrix performance in one combined row (45.3 TFLOPS); this page reports that figure under FP32 matrix, consistent with how it reads the equivalent combined row for MI250X and MI250. AMD’s own material says “6nm FinFET” but does not name the manufacturing partner on these pages; this page does not add a foundry name AMD did not state.
5.Where it’s made
SimpleStart here
AMD says MI200-series chips are built on a “6nm FinFET” process. AMD’s own datasheet and product pages do not name which foundry makes them.
Deep diveThe technical detail
This is a real gap in AMD’s own public material, not an oversight on this page: the MI200-series datasheet states the process node as 6nm FinFET but names no manufacturing partner 34. A foundry name for MI200 circulates widely in secondary technology coverage, but this page reports only what AMD itself states.
6.Which systems use it
SimpleStart here
MI250X’s best-known deployment is Frontier at Oak Ridge National Laboratory — the first computer to reach one exaflop, confirmed by Oak Ridge and by the independent TOP500 list 25.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Oak Ridge’s own announcement: Frontier pairs one third-generation AMD EPYC processor with four MI250X GPUs per node, across more than 9,400 nodes — 9,472 CPUs and 37,888 GPUs in total, connected by roughly 90 miles of cabling 2. The independent TOP500.org list for June 2022 records Frontier’s official benchmark result: 1.102 exaflops sustained (Rmax) against a theoretical peak of 1.686 exaflops (Rpeak), on an HPE Cray EX235a system with Slingshot-11 interconnect — TOP500’s own listing calls it “the first true exascale machine” 5. The same system also topped the Green500 efficiency list at 62.68 gigaflops per watt, per Oak Ridge’s own figures 2.
7.Official pricing
SimpleStart here
Not published by AMD. AMD has never listed a per-chip price for MI250X, MI250 or MI210 in any official source found, and this page found no major cloud provider publishing a reliable, official hourly rate for MI250X either.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Unlike its successor MI300X, which several cloud providers rent by the hour with published prices, MI250X was sold mainly to supercomputer integrators and enterprise buyers rather than offered as a metered cloud product. Figures for an MI250X hourly rental price circulate on third-party GPU-rental aggregator sites, but none of them is a named cloud provider’s own official pricing page, so this page does not repeat them as fact.
9.What came before, what came next
SimpleStart here
Came before: MI100 (16 Nov 2020), AMD’s first Instinct chip built for AI and HPC. Came after: the MI300 series, announced 6 December 2023.
Deep diveThe technical detail
MI100 was AMD’s own first CDNA-architecture chip, announced 16 November 2020, rated by AMD at 11.54 TFLOPS of peak FP64 — AMD’s own release calls it “the first to surpass the 10 teraflops (FP64) performance barrier”, comparing it directly to NVIDIA’s A100 at what AMD stated as 9.7 TFLOPS peak double precision 6. MI250X’s direct successor is the MI300 series, which moved to a newer CDNA 3 architecture and, in one variant, combined CPU and GPU cores on a single chip for the first time 7.
10.Hidden in plain sight
SimpleStart here
MI250X is not one chip die but two, joined inside a single package — one of the reasons it could scale to exascale performance across an entire supercomputer.
Deep diveThe technical detail
AMD’s own description of MI250X’s packaging — two Graphics Compute Dies bridged together with up to eight Infinity Fabric links 1 — is the same basic idea AMD would later scale much further in MI300X’s eight-chiplet design. Frontier’s Green500-topping efficiency figure (62.68 gigaflops per watt) is also easy to miss next to its exascale headline, but it is the number Oak Ridge itself highlighted alongside the speed record 2.