How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the brand has not published a figure -- a price, a die supplier, an exact date -- this page says so rather than estimate it.
1.At a glance
SimpleStart here
XLR8 Gaming DDR5 is PNY’s enthusiast desktop memory line. PNY announced its first DDR5 SKUs — split into a faster “MAKO” gaming tier and a plainer “Performance” tier — on 4 November 2021, about a week after Kingston and Corsair launched their own DDR5 lines on 27 October 2021 1. PNY was, however, three years behind on cross-platform support: it did not add AMD EXPO alongside Intel XMP until November 2024 2.
Deep diveThe technical detail
PNY’s original release named two products: XLR8 Gaming MAKO DDR5 at 5600MHz (PC5-44800) CL36, scheduled for “late Q4 2021,” and a plainer Performance DDR5 at 4800MHz (PC5-38400) CL40, scheduled for “mid-November” 1. Three years later, PNY’s November 2024 release introduced an EPIC-X RGB variant of XLR8 Gaming DDR5 at 5600–6400MHz, the first PNY DDR5 release to add AMD EXPO support alongside Intel XMP 3.0 2.
2.Launch and lineup
SimpleStart here
PNY entered DDR5 later than Kingston and Corsair and, for its first three years, supported only Intel’s XMP overclocking profiles — not AMD’s competing EXPO standard. That changed in November 2024 with the EPIC-X RGB variant, PNY’s first DDR5 memory to support both 12.
Deep diveThe technical detail
PNY’s original DDR5 announcement positioned MAKO as the gaming-focused SKU (5600MHz CL36) against a plainer Performance SKU (4800MHz CL40), both Intel XMP 3.0 only, both carrying a “Limited Lifetime & 24/7 U.S. Based Technical Support” warranty and no stated price 1. PNY’s November 2024 release rebranded the gaming tier as “XLR8 Gaming DDR5,” offering a plain version at 5600–6400MHz and an EPIC-X RGB version at 6000MHz and 6400MHz specifically, exclusively as a 32GB (2x16GB) kit, and — for the first time in PNY’s own DDR5 material — dual Intel XMP 3.0 and AMD EXPO support 2. PNY’s current product page for the RGB 6000MHz kit also lists a larger 64GB (2x32GB) configuration and CL30 timings not mentioned in either press release, meaning the product page reflects a later state of the lineup than the November 2024 announcement 3.
3.What’s inside the module
SimpleStart here
The EPIC-X RGB variant adds addressable RGB lighting (PNY’s “EPIC-X RGB” branding) over the plain XLR8 Gaming DDR5 heat spreader; the non-RGB version has no lighting 23.
Deep diveThe technical detail
PNY’s November 2024 release frames EPIC-X RGB as an optional illumination layer on the same underlying XLR8 Gaming DDR5 module, not a separate architecture — but the two are not sold at identical speeds: the non-RGB version spans 5600, 6000 and 6400MHz, while EPIC-X RGB is offered only at 6000MHz and 6400MHz, with no 5600MHz RGB option 2. Neither PNY release nor the current product page describes the heat spreader material or dimensions in the same level of detail Kingston and Corsair publish for their own lines 23.
4.Full spec table
SimpleStart here
PNY’s current RGB kit spec page lists 6000MHz CL30 (64GB/2x32GB) and a 32GB (2x16GB) option at 6000MHz, both at 1.4V, with backward-compatible speeds down to 4800MHz 3.
Deep diveThe technical detail
| Spec | Original MAKO (late 2021) | EPIC-X RGB (Nov 2024 release) | Current RGB product page (2026) |
|---|
| Speed | 5600MHz 1 | 6000MHz, 6400MHz 2 | 6000MHz 3 |
|---|
| CAS latency | CL36 1 | CL36 2 | 64GB kit: CL30 only. 32GB kit: sold in both CL30 and CL36 variants 3 |
|---|
| Capacity | Not stated 1 | 32GB (2x16GB) only 2 | 64GB (2x32GB) and 32GB (2x16GB) 3 |
|---|
| Voltage | 1.25V (MAKO), 1.1V (Performance) 1 | 1.35V (at 6000MHz) 2 | 1.4V 3 |
|---|
| Overclock profiles | Intel XMP 3.0 only 1 | Intel XMP 3.0 and AMD EXPO 2 | Intel XMP 3.0 and AMD EXPO 3 |
|---|
Three separate PNY sources, three different dates, and they do not agree cleanly on the 6000MHz kit’s voltage (1.35V in the November 2024 release versus 1.4V on the current product page) or CAS latency (CL36 versus CL30). This page states both figures rather than picking one, because PNY does not publish a change-log explaining the difference — it may reflect a running production change between the release date and when this page was checked.
5.Where it’s made
SimpleStart here
PNY assembles and tests XLR8 Gaming DDR5 modules; it does not name a DRAM die supplier on any of its DDR5 press releases or product pages 123.
Deep diveThe technical detail
None of PNY’s three DDR5-related sources checked for this page — the 2021 launch release, the 2024 EPIC-X RGB release, or the current product page — states which chip maker supplies the DRAM dies used in XLR8 Gaming DDR5 123. As with the other module brands on this site, PNY’s own published material does not let a buyer confirm the die source for a specific stick.
6.What it’s compatible with
SimpleStart here
PNY’s November 2024 release states dual support for Intel XMP 3.0 and AMD EXPO, meaning one-click rated-speed profiles on qualifying motherboards from either platform 2.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Unlike Kingston, PNY does not publish a standalone qualified-motherboard list for XLR8 Gaming DDR5; compatibility claims are limited to the XMP-3.0/EXPO dual-support statement in the November 2024 release and repeated on the current product page 23. The original 2021 MAKO release supported Intel XMP 3.0 only, with no AMD EXPO claim at all — EXPO did not yet exist as a published AMD standard at that release’s date 1.
7.Official pricing
SimpleStart here
PNY does not state a price in either DDR5 press release checked for this page 12; PNY’s own product pages do not carry a direct-sale price either 3.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Neither the 2021 launch release nor the 2024 EPIC-X RGB release states a price for any of the DDR5 models each one announces 12. This is a genuine gap rather than an oversight on this page’s part: PNY sells primarily through third-party retailers, and unlike Corsair, does not appear to publish a direct price on its own XLR8 Gaming DDR5 product pages 3.
9.Where this family sits in the lineup
SimpleStart here
Predecessor tier (2021): the plainer XLR8 “Performance” DDR5, 4800MHz CL40, positioned below MAKO at launch 1. Sibling (2024–): the non-RGB XLR8 Gaming DDR5, sold alongside the EPIC-X RGB version but at a wider speed range — non-RGB adds a 5600MHz option the RGB version does not offer 2.
Deep diveThe technical detail
PNY’s naming has shifted across the two releases checked for this page: in 2021, “XLR8 Gaming MAKO DDR5” was the higher tier and plain “PNY Performance DDR5” the lower tier, both separate from a plain “XLR8 Gaming DDR5” name 1. By November 2024, PNY was using “XLR8 Gaming DDR5” as the line name itself, split into a plain version and an EPIC-X RGB version, with no mention of the earlier “MAKO” sub-name in that release 2. PNY’s own material does not state outright whether MAKO was retired, renamed, or continues as a separate SKU family; this page reports what each release itself says rather than inferring a lineage PNY has not stated.
10.Hidden in plain sight
SimpleStart here
PNY’s own three DDR5 sources do not agree with each other on the 6000MHz kit’s voltage or CAS latency (see the Specs table) — a rare case among the brands on this site where a single company’s own published pages contradict one another rather than simply going silent on a figure.
Deep diveThe technical detail
The November 2024 release states the 6000MHz EPIC-X RGB configuration runs at 1.35V; the current product page for what appears to be the same or a closely related 6000MHz RGB kit states 1.4V and adds a CL30 timing option the release never mentions 23. Both are PNY’s own official pages, checked directly, and neither is dated in a way that resolves which is current at any given moment — this page states both explicitly, exactly as the standing sourcing discipline for this site requires, rather than silently picking the more recent-looking figure.