AI Chips · Product page

Google Ironwood (TPU7x): The Complete Guide

The TPU named in Anthropic’s up-to-one-million-chip commitment. Google says it can’t even run TensorFlow. Simple to expert, every number links to its source.

Stuck at any point? Ask an AI about this page →
Ask an AI about this chip:CAGPX
Google Ironwood (TPU7x) 10 sections · 2 levels 11 linked sources Checked September 2026
How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.

1.At a glance

SimpleStart here

Ironwood, also called TPU7x, is Google’s seventh-generation TPU, aimed at inference rather than general-purpose work. Announced 9 April 2025, Google called it “the first Google TPU for the age of inference” and “the first designed specifically for inference” 1 — Google’s claim rather than this site’s, and one worth reading alongside TPU v1, an inference-only chip covered on its own page here.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Ironwood entered preview 24 November 2025 and reached general availability 31 March 2026 2 — roughly a year after announcement.

2.Launch and history

SimpleStart here

Ironwood marks a deliberate shift in how Google frames its chips: Google describes it as a move “from responsive AI models that provide real-time information for people to interpret, to models that provide the proactive generation of insights and interpretation” — what Google calls “the age of inference” 1.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Google’s own numbers versus Trillium: 10 times the peak performance of TPU v5p and 4 times better performance per chip than Trillium for training and inference combined 3, with 2 times better performance per watt stated in Google’s original Ironwood announcement 1. A full 9,216-chip “superpod” delivers 42.5 exaflops of FP8 compute — described by Google as more than 24 times the compute of the El Capitan supercomputer 1 — a comparison between Ironwood’s FP8 figure and El Capitan’s FP64 one, so not like for like.

3.What’s inside it

SimpleStart here

Two TensorCores and four SparseCores per chip, connected inside 64-chip “cubes” that link into a 9,216-chip superpod over a dynamically reconfigurable optical network 4.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Ironwood uses a 3D-torus interconnect within each 64-chip cube — four chips to a physical host, 16 hosts to a rack-sized cube — with those cubes linked into the full superpod via Optical Circuit Switches, plus a separate data-center-network layer for connecting multiple superpods together 5. Google says its liquid cooling can “reliably sustain up to twice the performance of standard air cooling even under continuous, heavy AI workloads” 1. Google’s documentation explicitly states TensorFlow is not supported on Ironwood — only JAX and PyTorch are — and the older Cloud TPU API itself does not support TPU7x or later, requiring Compute Engine or GKE instead 46.

4.Full spec table

SimpleStart here

2,307 teraflops (bf16) and 4,614 teraflops (fp8) per chip, 192GB of HBM memory, connected up to 9,216 chips per superpod 4.

Deep diveThe technical detail
SpecGoogle Ironwood (TPU7x)
Peak compute (bf16)2,307 TFLOPs per chip
Peak compute (fp8)4,614 TFLOPs per chip
Memory192 GiB HBM, 7,380 GBps (~7.37 TB/s) bandwidth
Inter-chip interconnect1,200 GBps bidirectional
Data-center network link100 Gbps per chip
TensorCores / SparseCores2 / 4 per chip
Superpod size9,216 chips
Superpod compute42.5 exaflops (fp8), 1.77 PB shared HBM
Framework supportJAX, PyTorch — not TensorFlow

Per-chip figures per Google Cloud’s TPU7x documentation 4; superpod compute and El Capitan comparison per Google’s original Ironwood announcement 1, memory-bandwidth context per Google’s Axion-VM blog 3. Note that almost all of Ironwood’s headline bandwidth lives inside the superpod’s optical fabric: the per-chip external network link is a comparatively modest 100 Gbps against a 1,200 GBps chip-to-chip link.

5.Where it’s made

SimpleStart here

Google does not disclose who manufactures Ironwood or on what process node. Broadcom, Google’s TPU co-development partner, has not named Ironwood specifically in its own public filings.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Broadcom’s April 2026 SEC filing on its long-term TPU agreement with Google discusses future TPU generations and networking components broadly, without naming Ironwood or TPU7x by name, and does not disclose a foundry 7. No official Google or Broadcom source names TSMC or any other specific fabricator for Ironwood; this page does not assert one.

6.Which systems use it

SimpleStart here

Google’s regions-and-zones documentation lists Ironwood availability only in us-central1 (Iowa) 8, while Google’s own pricing page separately publishes an on-demand rate for europe-west2 (London) 9 — the two official Google sources do not fully agree on Ironwood’s footprint as of this check, and this page reports both rather than picking one.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Named adopters in Google’s own material include Essential AI and Lightricks, which built its LTX-2 generative model on Google Cloud TPUs and says early testing makes it “highly enthusiastic about Ironwood” 3. The largest named commitment is Anthropic’s: on 23 October 2025, Anthropic announced access to up to one million TPUs, with compute capacity “well over a gigawatt” expected online in 2026 10. That commitment covers TPUs generally, not Ironwood alone — Google Cloud’s CEO describes the scope as “including our seventh generation TPU, Ironwood” 10.

7.Official pricing

SimpleStart here

Google Cloud’s own pricing page lists Ironwood on-demand at $12.00 per chip-hour in Iowa, rising to $13.20 in London 9.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Checked September 2026, from Google Cloud’s own pricing page 9: on-demand $12.00/chip-hour in us-central1 (Iowa) and $13.20/chip-hour in europe-west2 (London); Dynamic Workload Scheduler options at $6.00/chip-hour (Flex-start) or $8.40/chip-hour (Calendar mode); committed-use rates as low as $5.40/chip-hour (3-year, Iowa). No page-level “last updated” date or fixed spot rate is published.

8.Real-world performance

SimpleStart here

Google claims 10 times the peak performance of TPU v5p, more than 4 times better per-chip performance than Trillium for training and inference workloads 3, and 2 times better performance per watt 1 — company-stated comparisons, not an independent benchmark.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Google’s carbon-efficiency reporting adds a separate, methodologically distinct claim: Ironwood achieves an approximately 3.7 times improvement in Compute Carbon Intensity (CO2-equivalent per utilized FLOP) versus TPU v5p, from data measured in January 2026, covering both embodied (manufacturing, transport, data-center construction) and operational emissions 11. The headline figure uses market-based emissions accounting; location-based accounting gives a materially different operational number 11. Peak BF16 compute rose from 459 TFLOPs (v5p) to 2,307 TFLOPs (Ironwood) across that same comparison 11.

9.What came before, what came next

SimpleStart here

Came before: Trillium (TPU v6e). Came after: TPU 8t and TPU 8i, announced April 2026 — the first time Google has split a TPU generation into separate training and inference chips.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Google describes Trillium as “our sixth generation TPU announced last year” relative to Ironwood’s April 2025 unveiling 1. Google’s eighth generation was then announced as a matched pair — TPU 8t for training and TPU 8i for inference — rather than one general-purpose chip; both are covered on their own pages on this site.

10.Hidden in plain sight

SimpleStart here

Two of the biggest AI companies in the world are both, per Google’s own material, running on the same chip family — at very different scales.

Deep diveThe technical detail

Google’s own blog says Gemini 2.5 and AlphaFold “all run on TPUs today” — the TPU family, not Ironwood specifically, which was not yet available when that post went up 1. Anthropic’s separate announcement commits to up to one million TPUs, a figure that likewise covers the family rather than this one chip 10. The striking part is the pattern: Google’s own flagship model and one of its largest external AI customers both sit on the same silicon line, disclosed in two entirely separate official announcements rather than one joint one.

11.Sources

11 sources, checked September 2026. Where NVIDIA or another maker has not published a figure, this page says so rather than estimate it.

  1. Google Blog: Ironwood: The First Google TPU for the Age of InferenceOfficial
  2. Google Cloud: Cloud TPU Release NotesOfficial
  3. Google Cloud Blog: Ironwood TPUs and New Axion-Based VMs for Your AI WorkloadsOfficial
  4. Google Cloud: TPU7x (Ironwood) DocumentationOfficial
  5. Google Cloud Blog: Inside the Ironwood TPU Codesigned AI StackOfficial
  6. Google Cloud: Cloud TPU RuntimesOfficial
  7. Broadcom: Form 8-K, Long-Term TPU Agreement with Google (6 Apr 2026)Filing
  8. Google Cloud: Cloud TPU Regions and ZonesOfficial
  9. Google Cloud: Cloud TPU PricingOfficial
  10. Anthropic: Expanding Our Use of Google Cloud TPUs and ServicesOfficial
  11. Google Cloud Blog: Ironwood TPUs Deliver 3.7x Carbon Efficiency GainsOfficial

Ask an AI about this page

Opens your assistant with this page as the source, and a question rather than a summary. It will ask what you are building before it answers.

ChatGPTClaudeGeminiPerplexityGrok

Nothing is sent from here. The link carries only this page’s title and address.