How to read this page. Each section starts Simple, then goes to a Deep dive: stop wherever you have what you need. The small numbers are sources: click one to open the original document. Where the maker has not published a figure -- a price, a die size, a factory address -- this page says so rather than estimate it.
1.At a glance
SimpleStart here
Ascend 910B and Ascend 910C are Huawei’s current-generation AI training chips. 910C is not a separate design — it is two 910B compute dies packaged together as one chip. 910B was first widely reported in November 2023, when Reuters reported Baidu had ordered it 1; 910C began shipping to Chinese customers from May 2025 2.
Deep diveThe technical detail
These two chips are covered on one page because they are the same generation on the same manufacturing process — the same pattern this site uses for same-generation chip families from other makers. 910B’s independent die analysis identifies a compute die codenamed “Virtuvian B”; 910C packages two of those dies together in a single multi-chip module 32. This page keeps the original Ascend 910 separate (its own page on this site) because independent analysis shows it was made on a different foundry entirely — see the “where it’s made” and “hidden in plain sight” sections below.
2.Launch and history
SimpleStart here
These are the two Ascend chip names a US government guidance document specifically listed by model number, warning that using them could violate export controls — before Huawei had published a full spec sheet for either one.
Deep diveThe technical detail
On 13 May 2025 the US Bureau of Industry and Security published guidance stating that certain integrated circuits, illustratively including “Huawei Ascend 910B / Huawei Ascend 910C / Huawei Ascend 910D,” are presumed subject to export restrictions under General Prohibition Ten 4. The original Ascend 910 (2019, TSMC-made) is not named in this guidance — only the 910B/910C/910D generation. A companion press release the same day announced the rescission of the prior administration’s AI Diffusion Rule and “strengthens chip-related export controls,” without naming specific models — the specific model names appear only in the linked guidance document, not the press release itself 5. Press coverage later reported that BIS removed language suggesting the restriction applied to any use “anywhere in the world,” a partial walk-back roughly a week after the original guidance 6 — this page states both the original guidance and that later softening, rather than only the stronger initial framing.
3.What’s inside it
SimpleStart here
910B: a single Da Vinci-core compute die, independently counted at around 25 AI cores. 910C: two of those dies packaged together as one chip 32.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Tom’s Hardware’s die-teardown analysis counts 25 “New DaVinci” AI cores on the 910B compute die — fewer than the 32 cores on the original 910’s die, despite being the newer generation 3. Huawei has not published its own die diagram, transistor count, or core count for either chip — every architectural figure here beyond Huawei’s own system-level claims comes from this independent analysis, clearly labelled as such.
4.Full spec table
SimpleStart here
910B: independently estimated die size 665.61mm². 910C: roughly 800 TFLOPS at FP16 (a secondary press compilation, not a Huawei figure), 128GB of HBM memory, roughly 3.2 TB/s of bandwidth 37.
Deep diveThe technical detail
| Spec | Ascend 910B | Ascend 910C |
|---|
| Construction | Single compute die | Two 910B-class dies, one package |
|---|
| AI cores (independent analysis) | ~25 “New DaVinci” cores | Not independently disclosed per-package |
|---|
| Die size (independent analysis) | 665.61 mm² (compute die, “Virtuvian B”) | Not disclosed |
|---|
| Compute (secondary press compilation) | Not separately compiled | ~800 TFLOPS FP16 |
|---|
| Memory | Not disclosed | ~128GB HBM |
|---|
| Memory bandwidth | Not disclosed | ~3.2 TB/s |
|---|
Die-level 910B figures per independent teardown analysis 3; 910C compute/memory figures per a secondary press compilation, not a direct Huawei-published datasheet — flagged here for verification rather than presented as confirmed 7. Huawei has not published a first-party spec sheet for either chip that this page could locate.
5.Where it’s made
SimpleStart here
Huawei names no foundry. Independent die analysis attributes both chips to SMIC, on a 7-nanometre-class process referred to as “N+1” 3.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Tom’s Hardware’s analysis leaves the cause of the 910B’s larger die size and lower AI-core count, relative to the original TSMC-made 910, an open either/or: either SMIC’s process has “significantly lower transistor density” than TSMC’s N7+, or Huawei substantially changed the core design itself 3 — a press/analyst conclusion, not a Huawei statement, and not a settled verdict between the two explanations. This page states the SMIC attribution as third-party teardown analysis, not as something Huawei itself has confirmed, consistent with every foundry claim on this site’s Ascend pages.
6.Which systems use it
SimpleStart here
Huawei’s Atlas 900 A3 SuperPoD links up to 384 Ascend 910C chips into one system, delivering “up to 300 PFLOPS” at 16-bit precision, per Huawei’s own product page 8.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Huawei’s own Huawei Connect 2025 keynote states more than 300 SuperPoD systems had been deployed, serving more than 20 customers, as of that keynote 9. The system uses Huawei’s own UnifiedBus interconnect to link the chips together — the system-level design, more than the individual chip, is where Huawei has published the most detail, consistent with this site’s wider finding that Huawei discloses more about its systems than about its individual chips.
7.Official pricing
SimpleStart here
Not published by the company. No Huawei price list for 910B, 910C, or the Atlas systems built around them was found.
Deep diveThe technical detail
Consistent with every Ascend chip on this site, Huawei does not publish chip prices. Analyst estimates of shipment volumes exist instead: SemiAnalysis’s own newsletter puts 2024 shipments at “507k Ascend units… the majority of which are 910Bs,” and 2025 shipments at “805k this year, 653k of those being 910C” 10 — a third-party volume estimate, not a price, and not independently verifiable against a Huawei-published figure. The same source calls these figures aspirational rather than guaranteed, noting China “can easily make more than 805k Huawei Ascends this year from TSMC and SMIC capacity, but they will not because they do not have enough HBM” — memory supply, not logic-chip manufacturing capacity, is the stated bottleneck 10.
9.What came before, what came next
SimpleStart here
Came before: the original Ascend 910, built on TSMC silicon before US export controls took effect. Came after: Ascend 950PR, Huawei’s next generation, covered on its own page on this site.
Deep diveThe technical detail
The jump from 910 to 910B is the clearest architectural break in the Ascend family this site has documented: a foundry switch, forced by export controls, visible directly in independent die measurements (see the Ascend 910 page). The jump from 910C to 950PR is a cleaner generational step — a new microarchitecture (SIMD+SIMT) and Huawei’s own first in-house HBM, rather than another forced foundry change 7.
10.Hidden in plain sight
SimpleStart here
A US government document named these two chips by exact model number and warned against using them — and then, about a week later, quietly narrowed how far that warning reached.
Deep diveThe technical detail
The 13 May 2025 BIS guidance named “Huawei Ascend 910B, Huawei Ascend 910C” and a third chip, an “Ascend 910D,” as presumptively restricted 4 — notable because, per available reporting, the 910D had only reached the sampling/testing stage at that point, with this site finding no confirmed commercial launch for it as of September 2026. A chip was named in a US government export-restriction document before it had reached the market. Separately, press coverage reports that BIS removed the guidance’s original suggestion that using these chips “anywhere in the world” violated US export rules, about a week after first publishing it 6 — a real, sourced walk-back this page states directly rather than presenting the stronger initial framing as still-current policy.